Advisory Committee

Advisory Committee
The CLLEVER Study has established Advisory Committee of experts from around Australia to provide clinical and corporate advice to the study. The following experts are members of the Advisory Committee

 Amanda Davies
Amanda Davies is currently the Assistant Director of Nursing, for the Nursing and Midwifery Office, Queensland, Department of Health, responsible for advising the Government and Minister for Health on matters relating to nursing, and providing leadership in relation to advance practice nursing roles including nurse practitioners.
Amanda was one of the first endorsed nurse practitioners in Queensland in 2007. Her speciality area of practice is acute and emergency care.
Amanda was a finalist in the 2010 Queensland Health Director-General Healthcare Improvement awards for her work in implementing the nurse practitioner – emergency model of care.
She has played a significant part in the progression of the role in Queensland and has a particular interest in the sustainability of nurse practitioner models of care.

Chris Helms
Chris Helms, NP is a full-time PhD student working with Prof Anne Gardner at Australian Catholic University and is an award recipient of the Australian Catholic University Postgraduate Award. He balances his academic time consulting and practicing in private practice in Canberra as a Primary Healthcare Nurse Practitioner.
He received his NP training in the United States and has specialty working experience within Cardiology and Cardiothoracic Surgery. He is a Fellow and past Vice President of the Australian College of Nurse Practitioners who is actively involved with its Executive Committee. He has diverse professional interests including NP academic program accreditation, website and graphic design, and mentorship.

Darlene Cox
Darlene Cox is the Executive Director of the Health Care Consumers' Association of the ACT. Darlene has been involved in the consumer movement since the late 1990s. She is an eminent advocate for health consumers with an excellent knowledge of the health system, both locally and nationally.
Darlene has a strong, practical understanding of community engagement principles. She has been the Executive Director of Health Care Consumers’ Association Incorporated since 2008. She is Vice President of the ACT Council of Social Services.

Stuart Smith

Stuart completed his Registered Nurse training in 1992 whilst serving in The Queen Alexandra’s Royal Naval Nursing Service in the UK.
He commenced his career as an Emergency Nurse Practitioner in 1998, working in several large teaching hospitals in the UK including the John Radcliffe Hospital in Oxford, St Thomas’ Hospital in London and Southampton General Hospital. He has also worked in nurse-led Minor Injury Units and Walk-in-Centres. In 2000, he worked in Chile as an Expedition Medic for three months with Raleigh International.
Following extensive travel throughout Australia, in 2007, Stuart embarked on a long held desire to live and work in Australia, which brought him to his current position at Lyell McEwin Hospital in northern Adelaide. Alongside his role in the Emergency Department, he also holds an adjunct Lecturers position with the University of South Australia's School of Nursing, works as part of the Rural Emergency Skills Programme in South Australia and is the Chair of the South Australian Chapter of the Australian College of Nurse Practitioners.
Stuart remains passionate and committed to the role of the Emergency Nurse Practitioner and the positive impact that we contribute in the safe and competent delivery of emergency care.